Tonight’s Forecast…A Freeeeeeeese!

So…this Freese guy. Goes by David. Plays for the Cardinals? Big hit in the World Series? A few of them actually? Still confused? Get the hell out of my blog then.

I couldn’t decide if he was a one-hit (no pun intended because it doesn’t make statistical sense) wonder, because hot streaks are common in baseball. Now he’s busted out of the gates in 2012, hitting just under .500 through the first four games. 

Ruh-roh. All my skepticism, gone. PUBLIC skepticism on podcasts, in blogs, in conversation all pointing towards my belief that it might have been a fluke. 

All the while, ignoring my girlfriend’s (diehard Cardinals fan) desperate plea: DAVID FREESE IS GOOD. YOU WATCH.

And as much fun as I’ve had telling her that I’ll only be impressed if he goes 5-for-5, I’m starting to crack. How can I hate on a guy who plays so hard, hustles so long, and is that damn clutch? The fact is, I can’t.

But the question remains: Is he legit? Is David Freese the real deal? I don’t know. Four official games does not an MVP make, but I am starting to enjoy watching him play. He plays in the same fashion that I modeled my game after in high school. Good defense, timely hitting and lots of hard work. 

Okay, so he’s a hell of a lot better. But, still…

This season will be a great measuring stick for last postseason’s mystery man. Talk to me in a couple months, and if he’s still a catalyst in that St. Louis lineup, I will consider. CONSIDER. Saying that tonight’s forecast is, in fact, a Freese.

Until tomorrow, don’t forget to keep your eye on the ball!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

