The Brew Crew

I don’t think I’ve posted anything about Ryan Braun yet. Have I? I don’t know. We’re doing it today, either way.

So if you haven’t heard, Braun did was accused of taking some roidy, PED crap. But he appealed the test and in a ridiculously rare move, he won it and had the charge overturned. Now, I didn’t watch the press conference and I don’t really care. I’m immune to people cheating in baseball at this point, even if it’s just a rumor.

But what I find interesting is this article, citing a very credible source in Buster Olney. According to Olney in the article, 80-90 percent of the “dozens and dozens” of ball players he’s talked to about this issue has been very upset about it. Naturally, he did all the interviews off the record. But that’s a shocking statistic.

That means almost every other player in baseball believes Ryan Braun took PEDs and cheated his way to an N.L. MVP. And don’t argue that it’s not what they believe – according to Olney, who is one of the most respected sports journalists around right now, only 10-20 percent of players were happy with the test. Eliminate Braun’s teammates, who would no doubt back him whether on the record or off, and you’re choosing from an even smaller sample size.

So that gets me wondering…I’ve always respected Braun and loved watching him play. I think he’s a fantastic player, and great for the game. I even maintained his innocence and still do, albeit with suspicion. But if that many opposing players were skeptical or even upset with the result of the appeal, doesn’t that mean they think he was guilty? Did they think he might be roiding before the positive test even came out?

Who knows? But one thing is for sure – guilty or innocent, Braun will always have this PED stigma attached to him. But whether or not you believe in the result of the appeal, it was a scientific test and a professional investigation. You have to consider the guy innocent. Time will tell if more of the story comes out (because doesn’t it always?) later that alters the truth.

In one quick bit of other news, Braun’s former Bash Bro., Prince Fielder, apparently hit a 611-foot home run in BP yesterday.

I’m going to let that sink in.

Has it sunk in yet?

Six hundred FEET? Adam Dunn was the last player to hit a ball over 500 feet in a game and that just barely cleared that benchmark. I don’t think I believe it, even if it factored in a lengthy roll, but I’m going to go with it. Because if there’s any player in the Majors who could hit a Spring Training BP fastball 611 feet, it’s Fielder.

That’s all folks. Happy Friday. Peace!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Brew Crew”

  1. Taylor Says:

    He will also always be known for the reason he’s taking roids-Herpes. I’ve always been attracted to the Hebrew hammer (true Wisconsinite), but I must say he’s lost a lot of sex appeal with this catastrophe.

    • jamblinman Says:

      hahaha…great comment. And that’s another angle to take on this issue – how many young women are no longer attracted to Braun? That might be even more devastating than the actual controversy…

Leave a Reply

