Is This Real Life?

Yes, yes it is. Finally. I’d rather be face down on my keyboard from lack of sleep, obsessively checking Twitter and stalking every journalist within 100 miles of here, but it is nice to have my normal routine back. Fresh laundry and a clean room for the first time in two weeks? No complaints. Besides, big girls don’t cry, right?

I miss being a part of the craziness of MLB Fan Cave. I really do. It was the most ridiculous, surprising two weeks of my life. But check out the list of things I’ve been able to do in the 24 hours since finding out my fate:

1. Laundry – I haven’t worn clean boxers since Valentine’s Day. I’ll let you decide if I’m kidding or not, ladies. Good luck.

2. Clean my room – Actually, I had become pretty good at just doing a standing long jump from my doorway to my bed every night. It was either that, or do backstroke through the mess.

3. Hit the gym – My body hates me. I haven’t seen the inside of a gym in weeks. Okay fine, months, but I couldn’t afford it until recently. Back off!

4. Talk to people – Yeah, you heard me. Just ask my pre-Fan Cave friends. Besides parents and co-workers, who I was forced to interact with (just kidding, I love you all), I spent the majority of my social life for the past two weeks either on Twitter or Tiny Chat, talking to the same 20 or so people all night. It was fantastic, but now I don’t have to feel like a dick for deserting everyone else I care about.

5. Take a real lunch break – For two weeks straight, I left the office at noon, took my hastily-made sandwich from the fridge, scarfed it, and sat back down at my computer by 12:03. Hey, 57 extra minutes to campaign!

There are many more I’m sure I’ll stumble over in the coming days, but that’s what I’ve noticed so far. Anyway, I wanted to briefly highlight another exceptionally positive impact the Fan Cave experience had on me.

Pure inspiration. I can’t remember the last time I was this motivated to lock myself in my room all weekend and work on my writing. But that’s literally all I want to do. Unless the weather stays this nice in Northern California…NO. I’m writing. Which also contradicts my 4th list item above. Shit. We’ll see.

But I really am absolutely driven right now to just write for days, and it feels great. I think getting that close to something so prolific that I never even dreamed of having a shot at made me realize that I can achieve everything I want to do. God that sentence was sappy. Anyone have wine to go with that cheese?

I mean it though. Doors are already starting to open. I’m now the Editor of the Dodgers baseball blog on FanvsFan.com. I’ve also accepted a position as a contributing writer for Lasorda’s Lair, another Dodger blog that supported me in my campaign. And, true story: Doug Glanville tweeted me today. Like, tweeted ME. Not a re-tweet or a response, he initiated twit-conversation. I can only imagine it was to offer me a job with ESPN, or perhaps as the next Commissioner of baseball.

By the way, keep an eye (or an ear) out. Myself, KP, Mapes, Brian, Angelo and Abby are creating a badass baseball podcast made up of snubbed Fan Cavers. And it’s going to be awesome. But the fact that it’s even a possibility is another example of how inspiring that whole experience was. I’m makin’ moves, people!

So today, I leave you with something else I’ve been missing over the last two weeks. Continuing my daily themes on Jam Shots! Let’s start fresh. Because I’m in a sing-along mood, here’s the Friday Song of the Week. I dig it – so glad that’s the number one song in the world right now!

Happy Manny is Back Day!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

