Shout Out to Muh Bro’s

What an emotional rollercoaster today was. First, I had to wake up after only four hours of sleep with just a Yeti beer and three Smirnoff Ices in my belly. I drove an hour to work. I sat there, staring at my phone and the computer screen, frantically refreshing both.

They said they would tell us the results “sometime this afternoon.” So, as soon as 9:01 a.m. came, it was the afternoon in New York. But I still had to wait three agonizing hours to find out that I was not selected for the MLB Fan Cave. Bummer, right? Except after a moment of shocked silence and an exhale and body slump that just screamed “Dangggggggggg,” I looked at the 30 finalists who did make the cut.

And I couldn’t be more pleased with what I saw. In no particular order:

@itsallyduh: I never knew awesome Giants fans existed until I met you! I hope you rep Bleacher Report like a boss and get it done in Arizona, my radio angel.

@brjeffers13: A closet poet after my own heart – spittin’ rhymes like Tech N9ne, except a way better guy, damn so fly, lookin’ all us Tiny Chatters right in the eye.

@LindsayGuentzel: Speaking of droppin’ lines and spewin’ rhymes, this girl does it way too fine. If there is a rap battle in Arizona, LG’s got this ish in the bag!

@NickHamiltonLA: My Dodger brother. I know you’re gonna take this home for Dodger Nation! Paint that cave blue, homie. I’m so glad the Dodgers have a rep in the Top 30 and none better than you! #Beastmode

@iBlogBetter: Ricardo is the MAN. If you didn’t know that yet, you clearly don’t know what YouTube is. Nut shot extraordinaire, yet he’s still got the stones to recruit Tony Gwynn and Stephen Strasburg for a video.

@kelseyshea11: Where do I even begin? My book-writin’, Whitney-lovin’, rhyme-textin’, squirrel-interviewin’ girl. I love everyone in this group, but I’m surely most disappointed that I won’t get to meet you in person down in the desert.

@shakabrodie: The man with no plan to shave (ever, hopefully). The canvasses that are your obliques gets that inner bromance a-kindling inside of me. I know you’ll bring Brian Wilson-esque energy to that Cave!

@TaylorAHensley: Bikini babe of the Fan Cave! I’m not sure Tiny Chat would have even survived without you. Show ’em how to buckle a batter’s knees with more than just a curveball. Let’s kick it soon, neighb.

@AtTravisMiller: His name is Travi and he’s pretty much a big deal. But really, you’re the complete package. Dancer, singer, debater, actor look-alike, and baseball whiz. Cheers – this one’s for you, buddy.

@CandiedVinegar: I know I’m your favorite, your stars show it. No matter what, I know I can count on you to use that trigger happy clicky finger to make me feel good! By the way, even though he didn’t answer, I know Mitt’s got your back.

And so many more. Apologies to @sharpd06, @brianpasnik, @EddieMata, @siev27, @teammegan, and @RickyMast for not coming up with a clever two-liner. I’m not writing a novel here, although I probably could and probably should. Because you all provided some of the best, funniest and most ridiculous chat moments of them all. And I’m finally out of 140-character prison.

It’s amazing that this kind of thing has happened in just two weeks. And I haven’t yet gotten the chance to give a real high five to any of you. A real hug, or a real handshake. But it will happen. Because we are an FC family and you are all the reason I have absolutely no regrets about this competition.

I may not be seeing you in Arizona, but I solemnly swear to meet every single one of you at some point in our gloriously, baseball-obsessed lives.

Bring on the Cave class of 2013! @Mapes4FanCave, @falconKP, @GODF_TH_R, @RangerfanBrian and @go_go_sirico can I get a big ol’ HELL YEAH?

Congratulations to all of the Top 30! I wish you the best of luck. But come on, readers. You think I went to the trouble of linking all their Twitters into this blog just to be fancy? Click, follow, love and cherish. Thank you.

Until next year, this is @jamblinman, bro-in’ out in style. #TextMeEveryone #ButReally #Peace

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Shout Out to Muh Bro’s”

  1. Living The Dream Says:

    Thanks, sir! Yeah, we all knew this day would come. I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to spend this experience with! Much love for all my #FanCaveFamily

Leave a Reply

