The Snub of All Snubs

I’ve talked snubbery many times on Jam Shots. From the Red Hot Chili Peppers omitting By the Way from their Greatest Hits album, to Klay Thompson not making the all-star game, to most of my pick-up lines at bars. But this new one takes snubbing to a completely new level. It’s like if the NBA’s anti-Monta Ellis committee hooked up with the writers who voted against Matt Kemp in the N.L. MVP balloting, and they had a child? That’s what this snub amounts to. Just stay with me here…

I looked over the Oscar nominees the other day. Conspicuously missing from the Best Actor category was a one Nick Nolte. You may remember him from The Prince of Tides…or more recently, The Hulk (don’t ask which one, I have no clue…they came out like 2 days apart).

This year, he starred in the film Warrior, which you’ve no doubt heard me drool over multiple times in this blog. And that’s because it’s one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. And one of the most incredible acting performances I’ve ever seen.

I’m keeping this short tonight because people are panicking in the Fan Cave because half of us have been followed on Twitter by the Fan Cave account and half have not (I’m in the latter…dun dun dun!), and I’m currently chatting with many scared cavers.

Anyway, Moneyball was good. Brad Pitt was okay, but he was basically just playing his role from Inglorious Basterds, minus the uniform and Nazi-bashing. Same voice, same cluelessness. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because I’m close to the Oakland situation that I thought it was just an average movie. But even rabid movie-goers can’t possibly think he was a great actor in that film.

I really can’t even explain how much of a travesty it is that Pitt is nominated for Best Actor and Nolte got the heave-ho. You need to watch Warrior as soon as possible and jump on the bandwagon. I’m all for starting a #Nolte4Oscars campaign.

Geez, this is really short. Sorry. And I just realized he is nominated. For best supporting actor. Which is also ridiculous. But it doesn’t hurt so bad anymore.

Goodnight, and wish me luck!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

