Welcome to Sportsaholics Anonymous

My name is Jeremy (Hiiiiiii Jeremyyyyyyy…) and I have a problem. I am addicted to sports. And I’m not talking the occasional hit behind the bleachers at lunch during high school. I’m talking breakfast, lunch and dinner. And I won’t make any apologies about it. I will ditch an intervention and go down swinging if anyone wants to take me to rehab.

Sports have always been a huge part of my life, and it’s a chunk of me I refuse to lose. I’ve had my own personal blog, filled with mundane stories of traveling the world, or the daily questions I bother myself with (Why did Bob Marley spare the Deputy? Why did Emma Watson cut her hair? Why doesn’t EVERYONE wake up to The Circle of Life ring tone?!), and the occasional sports quip.

But here’s a place, away from my¬†glamorous, unpaid position as a Major League Baseball Featured Columnist for BleacherReport.com, where I will shamelessly relapse on my sportsaholism every…single…day. I will do it my way. And you will read it. And you will like it.

Starting Monday, January 23rd, 2012 I will grace the pages of this blog with my wisdom, hilarity and insight once a day. I will discuss the biggest sports stories of the past 24 hours, even if business is slow and I’m only left with the “sport” of NASCAR to talk about.

Not that it matters – the world is ending in 11 short months. But until then, your final days will be filled with my writings. I apologize in advance.

No I don’t. You are feeding the fire and it burns so good.

Follow this blog if you enjoy the rhymes I’m spittin’ and please feel free to engage me in a fierce debate in the comments section. But I must warn you…I bring the pain.

For now, enjoy the greatest catch ever made. See you soon.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Welcome to Sportsaholics Anonymous”

  1. Sean Breslin Says:

    There’s nothing wrong with being addicted to sports!

  2. jamblinman Says:

    Completely agreed, Sean! But the parallels to actual addiction is incredibly interesting and makes for great metaphors in my writing. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Jillian @ Brilliant Title Says:

    Jer, while that was a sweet catch, you of all people know that the greatest catch ever made was by Dwight Clark in the 1981 NFC Championship Game. I get double cool points for this comment because I’m referencing a SF 49er (without your help!) AND because that’s my dad’s name…

  4. jamblinman Says:

    Ok yes, Jillian. First of all…double points officially awarded, because that is the most famous catch in NFL history. I mean for heaven’s sake, it’s called “The Catch.” But as far as freakishly athletic ability? Edwin Baptiste. Morgan State. Reverse Superman catch, as seen on the link. Hands down winner. The only person that could perform that miraculous, unbelievably athletic catch, is yours truly.

  5. pam Says:

    Keep at it! Should be a big SPORTS weekend with plenty to write about – GO Niners!

  6. Ahmad Says:

    There is definately a great deal to learn about this
    subject. I like all the points you have made.

  7. Lourdes Says:

    Appreciation to my father who stated to me regarding this webpage,
    this blog is truly amazing.

  8. agent nouns; coderivatives; polysemy; pragmatic restrictions; Construction Morphology; Says:

    Hi! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room
    mate! He always kept chatting about this. I
    will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good
    read. Many thanks for sharing!

  9. masnoticias.com.es Says:

    Hi, I check your blog regularly. Your writing style is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

