The 2013 MLB Fan Cave Results Are In…

IMG_0898Before I tell you about the call I received from the MLB Fan Cave today, let me once again thank everyone as much as the interwebs will allow for the unrelenting support from you all over the past couple months. The voting, sharing, reading, tip-giving and every other -ing verb you all took part in has been incredible to say the least.

Whether you are a loving member of my immediate family or fellow baseball fan tweeting from Oklahoma, I really wish I could thank every single one of you in person.

Alas, that is not possible. So please accept this blog as my metaphorical high-five/thank you hug combination. Anyway, down to business:

I regret to inform you (eh, too cliché) On a dark and stormy night (NO.) Bad news bears, people. The MLB Fan Cave discovered that I was ingesting performance-enhancing substances (mostly cookies and beer), over the course of this campaign and promptly disqualified me.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

But the truth is, the powers that be at the Fan Cave have officially chosen their nine representatives for this season (whose names I will NOT reveal no matter how much you bribe me, as I do not want my new friends getting in trouble before they even touch down in New York), and my name is not among them.

I’ll answer your first question right quick — yes, of course I’m disappointed. I was, still am, and always will be very confident in my abilities to rock a contest like this. Just like the other final 29, I thought I was going to get the “good” call this week. I’ve spent countless hours, days, weeks and months on my parents’ couch watching, analyzing, writing about, and loving baseball for as long as I can remember. And I think I do it better than most.

That being said, the talent in this competition was unbelievable. It’s a tough gig to get, especially when you’re squaring off with so many others who possess equal, if not better, blogging, creative, and social media expertise. So I’m proud of the nine who will be advancing (stay tuned to MLBFanCave.com for the announcement about a week from today), and the 20 other finalists who received bad news.

Just like last year, I’ve made some unbreakable friendships through this process and experienced amazing moments with these men and women. We will all stay in touch and continue to bond via Facebook, Twitter, and fantasy sports through our love for baseball.

Now, enough of the sappy stuff. Let’s talk about me.

But, seriously. Let’s talk about me. No matter where I’m watching my Dodgers play this season, the passion won’t subside. You will still be spammed by endless Bleacher Report links (how many of you just blocked me on Facebook?) and be expected to defend me if I come to blows in the bleachers at AT&T Park this summer.

IMG_0922

I have no idea yet if I’ll be re-applying for the Fan Cave in 2014. That’s like asking me if I’ll get back together with __________ (insert name of ex-girlfriend here) two hours after we broke up! It’s too fresh.

Plus, next year marks my 25th birthday, meaning I will have spent the majority of a quarter-century with a baseball for a brain. That’s scary. If it doesn’t work out again, is it time to hang up the jock strap, spit out the Big League Chew, and go travel the world or write a book or skinny dip in piranha-infested waters (I didn’t have a real third one…forgive my modest life goals)? Maybe.

But I’ll tell you this much — I still have more to give to this contest. I know I have a spot in the baseball workin’ world. I have no doubt that I am a living, breathing specimen for the purpose of watching baseball all summer, writing “top-10 nut shot” lists, and filming song parodies about Mike Trout.

And I know I can do better. That’s not necessarily an admission of regret; just an acknowledgement of room for improvement in certain aspects of my performance in Arizona.

If I do re-apply, you’ll know. But let’s just all take a break for one glorious baseball season, huh?

Now back to you lovely people. I honestly could not have gotten this far without your support, and thank you again for everything. My family and friends who cheered, voted and shared all my links. My #DodgerFam on Twitter and r/Dodgers thread on Reddit. Anyone who hosted me on their podcast or wrote about me on a blog. My uber-fan brethren on Three Up, Three Down. All the A-list actors, directors and choreographers who helped film all that ridiculous, goofy content I put together along the way. And again, the rest of the country’s most dedicated fans.IMG_0932

Even though I didn’t make it, I can’t be too upset. Not only are they making a Veronica Mars mov–uh, sorry. What I meant to write is, how else would I have ever met the kindest, cuddliest baseball fan of all time, @SuperFanPete, for example? Or the pro’s pro, @SamDingman? I mean…for god’s sake, I never would have known the happiest, giggliest Yankees fan ever, @Stephelovee, existed!

I love you all. Thanks for helping me along the way and for following along with the journey. I’ll never forget it. Please continue to follow my blogs and all my sports writing. It is what I love to do, and each read or comment or “like” is akin to finding an Easter egg full of candy and puppies. I seriously mean that.

So no matter if I’ve met you in person before, keep chatting me up about the greatest sport in the world (Or anything else. I do also accept the following conversation topics: Russian gymnasts, Vin Diesel quotes, and this commercial.). Heck, let’s go to a game together and revel in the glory ourselves! If I’m lucky, you’ll even buy me a beer!

What? I’m an unpaid intern. Cut me some slack.

Peace, Dodgers, and bunting forever,

Jeremy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “The 2013 MLB Fan Cave Results Are In…”

  1. mamadwc Says:

    BRAVO!! The passion oozes from every word…. the best is yet to come!

  2. Placidin Says:

    Shocked I am! Obviously I wouldn’t know you from Adam (don’t mean Kennedy either) or you me, but I stumbled onto this MLBFancave thing a few weeks ago and decided to follow the fellow Dodgers fans at first and eventually the others. Since then I have truly enjoyed reading, watching all of the content you have created. Keep that passion and stay positive because you are damn good at this. I look forward to following your continued success in the future. If you ever make it down to Miami for a ball game, that beer is on me.

  3. mortgage equity Says:

    This slim and light tablet comes with specifications that provides high computing power.
    It has a 2-megapixel rear-facing camera and a 5-megapixel front-facing one.
    The version of Windows on my tablet pc is Windows XP and there is no difference between it and
    the PC that I don’t use anymore.

  4. credit voiture Says:

    What you ought to do is find a wedding marquee hire that will
    provide you with the cost effective for the money.
    Here are 10 easy steps you can take to lower your exposure to tree pollen and other spring allergens, and keep allergy symptoms
    under control. Earwigs are largely nocturnal creatures that can easily be drawn in at night by
    any lights you have in or around your home.

Leave a Reply

